The Twelve Gates: A Spiritual Passage Through the Egyptian Books of the Dead

© John A. Rush

In The Twelve Gates, clinical anthropologist John Rush embarks on a spellbinding journey through death rituals in various cultures, centering on the ancient Egyptian philosophy of death and resurrection. The first part of the book provides an overview of different rituals, encouraging readers to confront their feelings about death and to reevaluate their lives. The author details his own experiences preparing for death, including a painful tattooing process inspired by the ancient Egyptian Books of the Netherworld. He then guides readers through the Twelve Gates of the Underworld, symbolic ritual stages during which they can figuratively experience death and rebirth. A set of full-color tarot cards, designed by the author, is included as an aid in passing through each of the Gates. These ancient rituals, performed by pharaohs and priests for thousands of years, help ease the way toward a peaceful, conscious death.

  • Paperback: 328 pages
  • Publisher: Frog Books; 1 edition (July 24, 2007)
  • Language English
  • ISBN-10:1583941754
  • ISBN-13: 978-1583941751

Order through: Amazon